The 2016 Summer School on Marine Environmental Health and Safety is jointly organized by Xiamen University (XMU), the City University of Hong Kong (CityU), Peking University (PKU) and National Taiwan Ocean University (NTOU), which is to be held in Xiamen from 5-14 July.

The State Key Laboratory of Marine Environmental Science (MEL) of XMU and the State Key Laboratory in Marine Pollution (SKLMP), CityU have co-organized five summer schools since 2008, which were well attended by over 510 participants from 14 countries and received very encouraging feedbacks.

The Summer School series aim to provide participants the fundamental concepts, latest development and current update on the rapidly growing field of environmental science and pollution research. The course is relevant and useful for postgraduates and professional working on the areas of environmental science, pollution and public health. Limited quota is available for senior undergraduates intended to work on these research areas.

The theme of Summer School 2016 is on “Marine Environmental Health and Safety”, which is a multidisciplinary subject of global concern. We continue our mission to provide high quality, interactive teaching and learning experiences (including lectures, field trips, student presentation) to our participants. The Summer School acts as a platform to nurture young scientists via direct interaction and discussion with world-class lecturers in the field. It also provides participants a valuable opportunity for career advancement, personal enrichment and development of social awareness and responsibility to the environment.

We look forward to seeing you in Xiamen.

Previous Summer School Series:

     “Ecotoxicology” in 2008, Xiamen;

     “Eutrophication (HAB) and Environmental Impact Assessment” in 2009, Xiamen;

     “Environmental and Human Health: Impact Assessment” in 2010, Hong Kong;

     “Emerging Environmental Problems and Risk Assessment” in 2012, Xiamen.

“Environment and Health Summer School - Oceans and Human Health” in 2014, Hong Kong, Shenzhen and Zhuhai


Organizing committees  

·      XMU (MEL): Xinhong Wang, Dazhi Wang, Kejian Wang, Haizheng Hong, Xiaolin Li

·      CityU (SKLMP/BCH): Doris Au, Paul K.S. Lam

·      PKU (ESPC/SEE): Min Hu, Yi Huang, Zhijun Wu, Song Guo

·      NTOU: Kuo-Ping Chiang .





Registration deadline postponed to June 1, 2016 [ May  23, 2016]
First Announcement [ Apr.  26, 2016]