July 30, 2018, On-line application opens

Oct 1, 2018, Application closes

Nov 1, 2018, Acceptance letter

Dec 12, 2018, Confirmation of attendance and
  registration due

Feb 20-22, 2019, Training workshop

  A three day training workshop is being offered on marine radioactivity. The purpose of the workshop is to train University students, early career scientists, and other professionals who are interested in, or will pursue research and/or management positions that require knowledge of radioactivity and its use in ocean sciences.  The workshop will include overview lectures and guest lectures covering the following subjects: Basics of radioactivity; natural, anthropogenic, and cosmogenic radioisotopes in the marine environment; radioecology, tracer and dating techniques; and other applications of radionuclides as ocean tracers. The training workshop will also provide hands-on activities and a field trip where samples are collected along the coast and subsequently processed and measured for radionuclides by workshop participants.

This workshop was developed during the Rio5 SCOR Working Group and has been held in Xiamen, China and France.

   
   
     
 

Dr. Ken Buesseler

kbuesseler@whoi.edu

Dr. Claudia Benitez-Nelson

cbnelson@geol.sc.edu

Dr. Sabine Charmasson

Sabine.Charmasson@ifremer.fr

Dr. Minhan Dai

mdai@xmu.edu.cn

Dr. Warner Ithier Guzman

warner.ithier1@upr.edu

Dr. Pere Masque

p.masque@ecu.edu.au

Dr. Willard S. Moore

moore@geol.sc.edu

Dr. John Smith

John.Smith@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

 

 
 

Dr. Ken Buesseler
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

kbuesseler@whoi.edu

Dr. Claudia Benitez-Nelson 
University of South Carolina  

cbnelson@geol.sc.edu

Dr. Minhan Dai
Xiamen University

mdai@xmu.edu.cn

Local coordinator:
Dr. Warner R. Ithier Guzmán
Email: warner.ithier1@upr.edu
Address: Environmental Safety and Health Office, Radiation Safety Program, University of Puerto Rico, Rio Piedras Campus

For instant questions regarding online application:
Ms Vera Shi (Xiamen University, China)
Email: vera_shiwei@xmu.eu.cn 
Phone: +86-592-2186039 Fax: +86-592-2184101